Agenda from November 18 FCC Consumer Advisory Committee Meeting

The second FCC Consumer Advisory Committee meeting included panels on Telecommunications Competition and Consumers, and Media Ownership and Consumer Interest; passed recommendations on Access to Video Relay Service Networks and Public Interest Obligations and the Digital Television; and included briefings on Public Participation via New Information and Communication Technologies.

NYCwireless is being represented on the Rural and Underserved Communities and Advanced Technologies working groups.
Federal Communications Commission
445 12th Street, S.W., Room TW-C305, Washington, DC

Friday, November 18, 2005

8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.


Morning Session

8:30 – 9:00 a.m. Continental Breakfast, Networking and Conversation

9:00 – 9:05 a.m. Welcome and Call to Order Shirley L. Rooker, Chair, Consumer Advisory Committee (CAC)

9:05 – 9:10 a.m. Meeting Logistics Scott Marshall, CAC Designated Federal Officer, Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau (CGB)

9:10 – 9:30 a.m.
Introduction of the Chairman and Commissioners, (Chairman and Commissioners invited — schedules permitting) Monica Desai, Chief, Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau (CGB)

9:30 – 9:45 a.m. CGB Update, Monica Desai, Chief, CGB

9:45 – 10:00 a.m. Break

10:00 – 11:00 a.m.
Perspectives on Telecommunications Competition and Consumers Panel Discussion: Debra Berlyn, Chair Competition Policy WG

11:00 – 12:00 p.m.
Media Ownership and Consumer Interest Panel Discussion: Denis Moynihan, Chair, Media WG, (speakers Juan Gonzalez; David Honig, Executive Director Minority Media and Telecommunications Council; Anthony Riddle, Alliance for Community Media; Hannah Sassaman, Program Director, Prometheus Radio Project)

12:00 – 1:00 p.m. Lunch and Networking

Afternoon Session

1:00 – 1:45 p.m. Recommendation Regarding Access to VRS Networks Dixie Ziegler, Chair, TRS WG

1:45 – 2:30 p.m. Recommendation Concerning Public Interest Obligations and the Digital Television Charles Benton, Member, Media WG

2:30 – 2:45 p.m. Break

2:45 – 3:15 p.m. Public participation via New Information and Communication Technologies at the FCC Speaker: Joanne Holman, Associate Professor, School of Media Arts & Design, James Madison University

3:15 – 3:45 p.m. Captioning and DTV Demonstration
Introduction: Julie Kearney, CAC Member
Presenters: Brian Markwalter, Vice President Technology and Standards, Consumer Electronics Association; Paul Thomsen, Director, Design/Technology & Standards, Hitachi Home Electronics (America), Inc.; Robert N. Blanchard, Standards Coordinator, Sony Electronics Television Operations of the Americas, Advanced Technology and Planning Division.

3:45 – 4:00 p.m. Wrap up, Comments from the Public, and Future Meetings

4:00 p.m. Adjournment